Book Review: The Virgin by Tiffany Reisz


The Virgin is the third book in The White Years part of Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners series. And, sorry to those of you who have heard this all before, but to those of you that haven’t… if you haven’t read any of the books, I wouldn’t advise continuing to read this review. Although I avoid spoilers wherever possible, there are so many previous books now that I may inadvertently spoil one of those.

Now, on with the review. The Virgin begins in present-day Scotland. Nora, Soren and Kingsley are reminiscing about their various, incredibly colourful, pasts, when a time that none of them have mentioned since it happens comes up. A year when Nora and Kingsley ran away from Soren. Soren, eager now to hear the tale, encourages its telling. And so, in typical Reisz style, we are led into the murky past of the storytellers, hearing in graphic detail what brought about the huge changes, and what happened next. As is mentioned in the blurb (so it’s not a spoiler!), Nora, then Elle, runs to the one place she knows neither Soren nor Kingsley can follow – her mother’s convent.

Unable to stay out of trouble even in a convent, Elle befriends a trainee nun. Together, they discover a sexual awakening and an amount of contentment. But Elle knows she can’t hide forever, and when something comes about to tempt her from her safe retreat, she’s scared, and torn. Is the temptation of fate enough to lure her out of the locked gates? Only one way to find out…

This was another superb read from Reisz. Detailing parts of the story that have only been touched on in the past, we discover yet more about our favourite characters, and how they came to be the people they are now. In terms of kink, this was one of the tamer books in the series, I felt, but it certainly didn’t suffer for it. It was necessary to tell the story how it took place, and there was still plenty of sex, emotion, and, as we’ve come to expect from our Sinners, drama. A very, very enjoyable book with a happy sub plot. As usual, I’m looking forward to more books in the series.

Available from:
Amazon UK
Amazon US

Posted in Books, Reviews and tagged as , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *